Tibet Revisited

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Tibet Revisited

 
Manfred Neuwirth
 
Tibet, Österreich 2005, 86 min, no dialogue

Prayer and Gymnastics
 
In “Tibet Revisited” documentary filmmaker Manfred Neuwirth shows just how much the cultural conflict in the Himalayas has stepped up over the last few years. And in the process he succeeds again in producing unforgettable moments of cinema.
Moments in the cinema that are unforgettable seldom happen. But there are some. It was like that with “Tibetan Recollections”, a travel journal by Manfred Neuwirth made in the middle of the Nineties. Views of landscapes alternated with impressions of everyday life, including one scene where Chinese soldiers in combat kit disperse a demonstration. Then, right in the middle of the film a laughing extended family suddenly appears in the middle of enjoying a picnic.
“Tibet Revisited” the most recent work by the Austrian filmmaker that was premiered this spring at the Diagonale, is a loose successor to the work made ten years ago. The cultural conflict—the new film shows this clearly—has only got worse in the meantime. “Lhasa,” said Neuwirth in conversation, “is really completely Sino-cised, Tibetan are clearly in the minority.” Nonetheless, in almost every sequence the enormous presence of traditional spiritual life can be felt. One shows a few believers who, on their way home from work, prostrate themselves in front of the Dalai Lama’s former palace while on the street behind them there is a continuous flow of pedestrians and cyclists; mopeds and small cars.
Neuwirth, who is no mere formalist, nevertheless treats form in his films very consciously. “Tibet Revisited” consists of a series of tableaux vivants separated by black frames where each of the 28 takes is shot with a fixed camera and lasts exactly three minutes. There is no commentary. While television continuously uses up images and combines them randomly with sound in order to simultaneously deliver licence payers with an interpretation of the world, the filmmaker lets the images and sounds that he finds speak for themselves.
Whether they “pass the test” depends, finally, on the viewer. With a radicalness that is otherwise used by only the American avant-garde documentarian James Benning, Manfred Neuwirth commits himself to a “ contemplative montage”. Whoever engages with the film really learns to see in the cinema. That also marks the main difference with “Tibetan Recollections” that worked with certain very small shifts between image and sound. The effectively un-reworked sequences in “Tibet Revisited” have this inherently built in, as the continuous blare of severely damaged radio speakers in the marketplace or the ringing of a mobile telephone during prayers testify. “When so many different times and cultures collide there are naturally developments that are exciting both from the images as well as sound,” says Neuwirth. “For example, it gets louder and louder. That’s why the impressions from the area round Lhase are more strongly defined through the soundtrack because advertising and with it this „big city“ sound has clearly established itself.”
The diverse conflicts between traditionally influenced ways of life and a strongly impinging modernity is reworked into the order of the tableaux by the filmmaker in a way that is both sovereign and subtle. Praying in front of the palace is preceded by a scene in which employees of a Chinese concern perfunctorily go through their early-morning gymnastics. In the streets of Lhasa jeans, Coca-Cola and pop music bear witness to the progress of globalisation; in the country it is above all the new factories, surfaced roads and continuously increasing traffic.
Even stronger are those images which cannot be decoded quite so simply. One of them shows a monastery which is only recognisable as such by the chants of the monks coming from outside the image; another, completely hypnotic image, shows nothing more than a millstone turning regularly. One doesn’t need to know it is an archaic piece of equipment and has, in addition, immense cultural meaning (“it is grinding barley, the main staple food of Tibet,” says the filmmaker) in order for all the senses to be engaged by the rhythm of this droning movement. “Tibet Revisited”, like all of Manfred Neuwirth’s films, rejects artificial didacticism, his argumentation is one of form, of concentration, of poetry. He is not concerned with illustrating some theory or other nor to present himself as a globe-trotting adventurer. His work has only peripherally to do with the home-grown wave of documentary filmmakers and much more with cinema à la Benning or Romuald Karmakar.
With its last sequence, a travelling shot through the countryside, the film unexpectedly takes off. Foreign trucks thunder along a road lying bared to a glittering highland light while native traders unfalteringly chug along the edge of it with their archaic companions. An unforgettable moment. Michael Omasta, Falter

28 Shots from an occupied country
 
Manfred Neuwirth’s formally strict but extremely eloquent film document “Tibet Revisted” at the cinemas.
 
After someone has been on a journey they usually prefer to talk about themselves. In the post-journey reports and picture documents that are then shown the concern is less with what happened or what the state of things is and rather more about why the traveller with his specific mental state perceived something as he did. The Viennese video maker Manfred Neuwirth knows about limitations of this nature – especially when they apply to a country that is so hedged with romantic interpretations of such urgency and with such good intentions as Tibet is.
Neuwirth, who ten years ago filmed “Tibetan Reminiscences” confronts the normal wide-screen slide show with a Dalai Lama lecture to follow with a formally strict but extremely eloquent film document. “Tibet Revisited” – 28 mostly static shots each around three minutes long: children at play. A roller-skating rink, a town gate and, finally, a travelling shot into a deceptive, interchangeable nowhere. The three minute duration per shot sounds longer than it really is though. First of all one has to get oriented of the wealth of detail in the individual shots and the original sound that goes with them and, in the end, one still isn’t completely “in the picture” especially against the background that Neuwirth uttered taciturnly at this year’s Diagonale: “This is a film from an occupied country”.
 
“Tibet Revisited” is, in actual fact, less of an analysis of a precarious political and social situation and more of an exercise in more precise perception. A magnificent little film that shows in the “foreign” and unfathomable which clichés are taxed in describing one’s own position.
Claus Philipp, Der Standard 17./18.12.2005

A Journey of Delight in Seeing.
 
28 quiet shots each precisely three minutes long: this is how Austrian media artist and filmmaker Manfred Neuwirth sees the world that he knows. It is nevertheless seen completely without prejudice and with wonder. As Neuwirth shows it, present-day Tibet is a country split between spirituality and banality: everyday life within the temple complexes has, of course, the same value as the bustle in the entertainment centre. Neuwirth does not explain nor comment on anything, he only shows without translating the words he captures, without emphasising the political subtext of his images. The freedom he creates for his viewers like this is unprecedented. “Tibet Revisited” is not so much a meditative as a sensually challenging film, a musical without sets, players and a score; a journey full of delight in seeing and consisting of tremendous images and sounds.
Stefan Grissemann, profil

Secrets without exoticism
Manfred Neuwirth’s "Tibet Revisited".
 
The uncut shot is one of the strongest devices in documentary film making. The contact with the subject, the world in front of the camera, is intensified by insistence. Current documentary “hits” try to make you forget this: anticipatory compliance with an alleged TV span of attention is an enticement to reduce scenes to the allegedly “best moments”. This can be seen in the Oscar favourite, a documentary about dance school competitions, Mad Hot Ballroom. It doesn’t just appear to be an advertising film for the schools, it also compromises the best moments. When in the dialogue between learning children social or cultural insights surface, they do so as quick-witted sound bites. With this condensed “entertainment” form one learns almost nothing about the surroundings or the tensions which generate them.
 
So the first scene of Manfred Neuwirth’s fascinating new document Tibet Revisited works like a balsam: a fixed frame showing a piece of a trampoline on which children and jumping and playing. No commentary, no explanation, three minutes of life in Tibet. Insights are left up to the viewer. 27 further, fixed, uncommented 3-minute takes follow: an exercise in concentration. This
 
Scenes of unusual contemplation such as the grinding, rapidly hypnotic mantra of a regularly turning millstone) alternate with some that unobtrusively and clearly capture the tensions in modern Tibet. In front of the former palace of the Dalai Lama believers repeatedly throw themselves to the ground while the mobile phone of a passer-by rings. Before that: the employees of a Chinese business concern doing their morning gymnastics.
 
The richness of Tibet Revisited is not only due to the dialects of the shots but also the sublime beauty of the selected images and, above all, sound. When, at the end, there is a wonderful overland travelling shot—with the camera mounted firmly on the car—it is not only an ecstatic experience of movement but also a reminder how fleeting and various the previous impressions were: offering secrets without exoticism.
Christoph Huber, Die Presse 05.12.2005

Manfred Neuwirth undertakes another of his fascinating filmic expeditions: a profession of faith in concentration which is an invitation to reconsider perception.
 
Images that make you dizzy: a group of young men jump around on a checked, multi-coloured trampoline, shout, laugh, yell into a camera which is immobile, which observes without emotion, registers activity almost dispassionately. Minute after minute. Until the images seem to disassociate from the what they represent, till the colours surge, the stubborn naturalism leads into a magical realism that permeates the self-evident nature of common perception. In 28 strict tableaux shot with a fixed camera the Viennese documentary and experimental film maker Manfred Neuwirth captures everyday Tibetan life in his most recent film in an extremely reduced form which he transforms into non-reductive expressiveness. When Neuwirth—sometimes with the proximity of a microscope and sometimes from further away—films human and natural activities, what grows out of his quasi-ethnological gaze and his profession of faith in concentration is a shimmering kaleidoscope of Tibetan facts that oscillate between millstones that turn like prayer wheels and blaring market loudspeakers, burbling water, machines and people. The wealth of variation in the images—which include the modern as well as the traditional—prevents them lapsing into the purely meditative, into an exotic, rose-tinted monkishness. These images are—sometimes more, sometimes less—also always political, they show concretely how it is to live in this country. And in addition the images are intensely cinematographic. Neuwirth presents his tableaux in Cinemascope which lends the everyday images an immediate artificiality simply from the format and intensity of colour and makes out of the documentary film and avant-garde one. Here the crystal clear surround sound also plays a role. Its spatial sound illuminates not only the images themselves but also their obverse, what is alongside, what is unseen. Because Neuwirth surrounds his images with a black shaded—one is tempted to say veiled—frame, the film is given an enchanting, dreamlike aspect: the commonplace, filmed rather objectively, reveals a suggestive splendour in fugitive colours and forms that might be a door to another world whether it lies in the Himalayas, in Vienna or simply in the eyes of the viewer.
Sebastian Hofer, Ray

Tibet is small, impassable and poor. There are no endless sandy beaches, no deep blue sea and no “wellness” landscapes. But Tibet is a dream destination for thousands nevertheless, even though only a few of them can turn their dream into reality. But that is not so important. Tibet is the promised land of the spirit and the soul; there is, probably, redemption there. It is a land close to the hearts of many even if they have never seen it with their own eyes. The Austrian media artist and film maker Manfred Neuwirth has seen Tibet, and more than once. Around a decade after his filmic travel diary, Tibetan Recollections, he re-works his intimate relationship to this far-off country of contradictions. And just like the unassuming visionary American filmmaker James Benning, Neuwirth uses a very strict formal device to increase the effect of the content: in a total of 28 takes, each with a completely fixed camera, he shows scenes from Tibetan everyday life. And these 28 panoramas come together during the film into a compact whole – a coherent portrait of a land shrouded in mystery and its people – without esoteric spectacles and Buddhist fandom; without cultural cultism and political polemic. Neuwirth allows the pictures to speak for themselves. In the final analysis they have enough to say.
Gini Brenner, Skip 12/05

Ten years after his "Tibetan Recollections" director Manfred Neuwirth has again visited the country. In “Tibet Revisited” he captures life in and around Llasa in 28 scenes. The fixed camera communicates a very personal picture of daily life in Tibet showing the conflict between tradition and modernity. But the soundscape speaks louder than the images and breathes life into them. If you like exploring new (spiritual) worlds then “Tibet Revisited” is the right place for you.
Christina Mondolfo, Wiener Zeitung

In 1995, with "Tibetan Recollections" Manfred Neuwirth presented his very personal form of a filmic travel diary: 35 equally long, static camera shots in slow motion which sought after the magic moments of everyday life. With "Tibet Revisited" he returns to the starting point of his journey again.
 
He has developed his aesthetics in the second and third part of his "[ma]-trilogy" which in 1998 took him to Japan (manga train) and in 1999 to the Lower Austria of his childhood (magic hour). With "Tibet Revisited" Neuwirth takes viewers back again into a multi-layered perceptual world with an expanded world view.
 
An illuminated kaleidoscope of everyday impressions from Lhasa and the surrounding area, a diverse spectrum of optical and acoustic snapshots in widescreen format and surround sound: market and street scenes, crowds and landscapes, religious rituals, handcrafts and free time activities.
 
The 28 equally long sequences form a unified—although no longer artificially slowed—contemplative flow of images and sound that reflects on changes in Tibet under Chinese occupation. The links between the individual shots can be related to content or form, a motif, a sound, a movement or even just the mood of the light or a feeling.
 
Children at play, for example, are followed by close-ups of traditional dice games, a turning millstone takes up the movement of a roller skating rink that precedes it, a rushing stream that flow of a crowd through the bazaar. And from time to time the connections between the scenes is as delicate as the string on the paper kite that flies previous to the scene of a competition between shadow-boxing monks. Neuwirth presents magic moments en passant – not only in far away Tibet.
Oberösterreichische Nachrichten

Tibet Revisited

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Tibet Revisited

 
Manfred Neuwirth
 
Tibet, Österreich 2005, 86 min, no dialogue

Gebet und Gymnastik
 
In „Tibet Revisited“ zeigt der Dokumentarfilmer Manfred Neuwirth, wie sehr sich der kulturelle Konflikt am Himalaya in den letzten Jahren verschärft hat. Und dabei gelingt ihm wieder ein unvergesslicher Kinomoment.
Selten, aber doch, gibt es Momente im Kino, die einem unvergesslich bleiben. So geschehen in „Tibetische Erinnerungen“, dem Mitte der Neunzigerjahre entstandenen Reisejournal von Manfred Neuwirth. Ansichten von Landschaften wechselten mit Impressionen aus dem Alltagsleben, inklusive einer Szene, in der chinesische Soldaten in voller Montur eine Demonstration zerstreuen. Dann, mitten im Film, tauchte wie aus dem Nichts plötzlich das Bild einer lachend picknickenden Großfamilie auf.
„Tibet Revisited“, die im Frühjahr auf der Diagonale uraufgeführte jüngste Arbeit des österreichischen Filmemachers, steht in loser Nachfolge zu dem vor zehn Jahren realisierten Werk. Der kulturelle Konflikt, das zeigt der neue Film deutlich, hat sich in der Zwischenzeit durchaus noch weiter verschärft. „Lhasa“, so Neuwirth im Gespräch, „ist heute eigentlich komplett chinoisiert, die Tibeter sind da schon eindeutig in der Minderheit.“ Gleichwohl spürt man in fast jeder Sequenz immer noch die ungeheure Präsenz des traditionellen geistigen Lebens. Eine zeigt ein paar Gläubige, die sich auf dem Heimweg von ihrer Arbeit vor dem einstigen Palast des Dalai-Lama zum Gebet niederwerfen, derweil auf der Straße, gleich hinter ihnen, ein steter Fluss aus Passanten und Radfahrern, Mopeds und Kleinwägen vorüberzieht.
Neuwirth, der beileibe kein Formalist ist, geht in seinen Filmen dennoch sehr bewusst mit Gestaltungsformen um. „Tibet Revisited“ besteht aus einer Reihe durch Schwarzfilm voneinander abgesetzten Tableaux vivants, wobei jede der insgesamt 28 mit starrer Kamera und Einstellungsgröße aufgenommenen Szenen jeweils exakt drei Minuten dauert. Kommentar gibt es keinen. Während das Fernsehen unablässig Bilder verschleißt und beliebig mit Tönen kombiniert, um den Gebührenzahlern seine Interpretation der Welt gleich mitzuliefern, lässt der Filmemacher die Bilder und Töne, die er findet, ganz für sich alleine stehen.
Dass sie auch „bestehen“, hängt nicht zuletzt vom Betrachter ab. Mit einer Radikalität wie sonst nur der amerikanische Avantgarde-Dokumentarist James Benning setzt Manfred Neuwirth hier auf eine „Montage der Kontemplation“. Wer sich auf den Film einlässt, lernt im Kino tatsächlich sehen. Das markiert auch den wesentlichen Unterschied zu „Tibetische Erinnerungen“, der noch mit gewissen kleinen Verschiebungen zwischen Bild und Ton arbeitet. Den quasi unbearbeiteten Sequenzen von „Tibet Revisited“ sind derlei Verschiebungen bereits inhärent, wie das unablässige Plärren arg lädierter Radiolautsprecher auf den Marktplätzen oder das Läuten eines Mobiltelefons während eines Gebets bezeugen. „Wenn so verschiedene Zeiten und Kulturen aufeinanderprallen, gibt es naturgemäß Entwicklungen, die sowohl vom Bild wie vom Ton her ungemein spannend sind.“, sagt Neuwirth: „Es wird zum Beispiel immer lauter. Deswegen sind die Eindrücke aus dem Großraum Lhasa stärker über die Tonspur definiert, weil sich die Werbung und mit ihr dieser ‚großstädtische Sound’ dort schon ganz klar durchgesetzt hat.“
Die vielfältigen Konflikte zwischen traditionell geprägten Lebensformen und einbrechender Moderne arbeitet der Filmemacher, gleichermaßen souverän wie subtil, durch die Anordnung der einzelnen Tableaux heraus; dem Gebet vor dem Palast geht eine Szene voraus, in der Angestellte eines chinesischen Konzerns in aller Eile ihre obligatorische Frühgymnastik erledigen. In den Straßen von Lhasa zeugen Jeans, Coca-Cola und Popmusik vom Fortschritt der Globalisierung, am Land vor allem neue Fabrikbauten, befestigte Strassen und ständig wachsendes Verkehrsaufkommen.
Stärker noch sind diejenigen Bilder, die sich nicht ohne weiteres entziffern lassen. Eines zeigt eines Klostergang, der nur durch den Gesang eines Mönches aus dem Off überhaupt als solcher zu identifizieren ist; ein anderes, vollkommen hypnotisches Bild, zeigt nichts als einen sich gleichförmig drehenden Mahlstein. Dass es sich dabei um eine archaische Gerätschaft handelt, der zudem noch eine immense kulturelle Bedeutung zukommt („er mahlt Gerste, sozusagen das Hauptnahrungsmittel von Tibet“, so der Filmemacher), braucht man keineswegs zu wissen, damit sich alle Sinne auf den Rhythmus dieser leiernden Bewegung umstellen.
„Tibet Revisited“ verweigert, wie alle Filme von Manfred Neuwirth, jede aufgesetzte Didaktik, seine Argumentation ist eine der Form, der Konzentration, der Poesie. Weder geht es darum, irgendwelche Thesen zu illustrieren, noch sich selbst als globetrottenden Teufelskerl in Szene zu setzen. Mit den heimischen Dokumentarfilmboomern hat sein Werk nur am Rande zu tun, mehr schon mit dem Kino eines Benning oder Romuald Karmakar.
Mit seiner letzten Sequenz, einer Fahrt über Land, hebt der Film unerwartet noch einmal völlig ab. Über die Straße, die im funkelnden Licht des Hochlandes daliegt, donnern ausländische Schwerlaster heran, während die einheimischen Kleinhändler mit ihren urtümlichen Gefährten unbeirrt weiter den Straßenrand entlangtuckern. Ein unvergesslicher Moment. Michael Omasta, Falter

28 Aufnahmen aus einem besetzten Land
 
Manfred Neuwirths formal strenges und zugleich ungemein beredtes Filmdokument "Tibet Revisited" im Kino
 
Wenn einer eine Reise tut, dann erzählt er nachher meist bevorzugt über sich selbst. In den Berichten danach und in den Bilddokumenten, die dann gezeigt werden, geht es ja meist weniger um das, was war oder ist, sondern wie und warum der Reisende in seiner spezifischen Befindlichkeit etwas wahrgenommen hat. Der Wiener Videomacher Manfred Neuwirth weiß um solche Beschränktheiten, erst recht, wenn es um ein Land geht, das derart inständig romantisch interpretiert und gutmenschenhaft hochstilisiert wird wie Tibet.
Den gängigen Breitwand-Diavorträgen mit nachfolgender Dalai-Lama-Lektüre hält Neuwirth, der vor zehn Jahren schon Tibetische Erinnerungen filmte, nun ein formal strenges und zugleich ungemein beredtes Dokument entgegen. Tibet Revisited - 28 weit gehend statische Einstellungen in der Länge von jeweils etwa drei Minuten: spielende Kinder, eine Rollschuhbahn, ein Stadttor, und am Ende eine Fahrt in einem trügerisch verwechselbaren Nirgendwo. Wobei drei Minuten Dauer pro Aufnahme länger klingt, als es tatsächlich ist. Im Detailreichtum der einzelnen Bilder und der mit ihnen einhergehenden O-Töne muss man sich erst einmal orientieren - und weiß am Ende doch nicht "Bescheid", erst recht nicht vor dem Hintergrund, den Neuwirth wortkarg vorgab, als er heuer bei der Diagonale sagte: "Dies ist ein Film aus einem besetzten Land."
 
Tibet Revisited wird insofern weniger zur Analyse eines prekären politischen und sozialen Spannungsfeldes als vielmehr zu einer Einübung in eine genauere Wahrnehmung. Ein grandioser kleiner Film, der im "Fremden", Undurchschaubaren zeigt, welche Klischees man nicht zuletzt auch für Beschreibungen des Eigenen strapaziert.
Claus Philipp, Der Standard 17./18.12.2005

Blicklustreise
 
28 ruhige Einstellungen zu je präzise drei Minuten: so blickt der österreichische Medienkünstler und Filmemacher Manfred Neuwirth auf eine Welt, die er kennt – und dennoch ganz vorurteilsfrei staunend betrachtet. Das gegenwärtige Tibet, wie es Neuwirth vorführt, ist ein zwischen Spiritualität und Banalität gespaltenes Land: Das Alltagsleben in den Tempelanlagen hat hier selbstverständlich denselben Wert wie der Trubel in Entertainment-Zentren. Neuwirth erklärt und kommentiert nichts, er zeigt nur, ohne die Worte zu übersetzen, die er einfängt, und groß auf die politischen Subtexte seiner Bilder zu verweisen. Die Freiheit, die er seinem Zuschauern damit zugesteht, ist unerhört. „Tibet Revisited“ ist ein nicht so sehr meditativer als sinnlich herausfordernder Film, ein Musical ohne Kulissen, Schauspieler und Partitur: eine Blicklustreise aus gewaltigen Bildern und Klängen.
Stefan Grissemann, profil

Geheimnis ohne Exotik
Manfred Neuwirths "Tibet Revisited".
 
Die ungeschnittene Einstellung ist eines der stärksten Mittel des Dokumentarfilms, durch Insistieren wird der Kontakt mit den Subjekten, der Welt vor der Kamera, intensiviert. Aktuelle Dokumentar-"Hits" möchten das oft vergessen machen: Vorauseilender Gehorsam gegenüber einem vermeintlich TV-Aufmerksamkeitsspannen verfallenen Publikum verführt dazu, Szenen auf angebliche "beste Momente" zu reduzieren. Zu sehen derzeit etwa in der Oscar-favorisierten Tanzschul-Wettbewerbs-Doku Mad Hot Ballroom: Nicht nur wirkt sie wie ein Werbefilm für die Schulen, die besten Momente sind kompromittiert. Wenn in Dialogen lernender Kinder soziale, kulturelle Einsichten auftauchen, so nur als schlagfertige Soundbites. Vom Umfeld, den Spannungen, aus denen sie entstehen, erfährt man in verknappter "Entertainment"-Form fast nichts.
 
Wie Balsam wirkt da die erste Szene von Manfred Neuwirths faszinierendem neuen Dokument Tibet Revisited: Ein starrer Bildausschnitt zeigt ein Stück Trampolin, auf dem Kinder hüpfen und spielen. Kein Kommentar, keine Erklärung, drei Minuten vom Leben in Tibet, die Einsichten werden dem Zuseher überlassen. 27 weitere unbewegte, unkommentierte Drei-Minuten-Einstellungen folgen: eine Übung in Konzentration. Das mag experimentell und abstrakt klingen, ist aber absolut fesselnd und konkret.
 
Szenen unüblicher Kontemplation (das leiernde, bald hypnotische Mantra eines gleichmäßig gedrehten Mahlsteins) wechseln mit solchen, die Spannungen im modernen Tibet unaufdringlich, aber klar erfassen. Gläubige werfen sich vorm einstigen Dalai-Lama-Palast wieder und wieder zu Boden, während das Handy eines Passanten läutet. Davor: Angestellte eines chinesischen Konzerns bei der Morgengymnastik.
 
Der Reichtum von Tibet Revisted verdankt sich nicht nur der Dialektik der Einstellungen, auch der sublimen Schönheit der gewählten Bilder und vor allem: Töne. Wenn am Ende eine wunderbare Überlandfahrt (die starre Kamera vorn aufs Auto montiert) kommt, ist das nicht nur ekstatische Bewegungserfahrung, sondern auch Erinnerung daran, wie flüchtig und vielschichtig die Eindrücke zuvor waren: Sie bieten Geheimnis ohne Exotik.
Christoph Huber, Die Presse 05.12.2005

Manfred Neuwirth unternimmt eine weitere seiner faszinierenden filmischen Expeditionen: ein Bekenntnis zur Konzentration, das zum Überdenken von Wahrnehmungen einlädt.
 
Bilder, die schwindlig machen: Eine Gruppe junger Burschen springt auf einem bunt gescheckten Trampolin, schreit, lacht, bellt in die Kamera, die sich nicht rührt, ohne Regung beobachtet, fast schon leidenschaftslos dieses Treiben in sich aufnimmt. Minutenlang. Bis die Bilder sich vom Dargestellten zu lösen scheinen, Farben zu wogen beginnen, der sture Naturalismus in einen magischen Realismus mündet, der die Selbstverständlichkeit der gemeinen Wahrnehmung durchdringt. In 28 strengen, von einer unbewegten Kamera gefilmten Tableaus fängt der Wiener Dokumentar- und Experimentalfilmer Manfred Neuwirth in seinem jüngsten Film tibetanischen Alltag ein in einer denkbar reduzierten Form, die er zu einer unreduzierten Expression führt. Wenn Neuwirth, teils mikroskopisch nah, teils aus einiger Entfernung, menschliche und natürliche Verrichtungen filmt, erwächst aus seinem quasi-ethnologischen Blick und seinem Bekenntnis zur Konzentration ein schillerndes Kaleidoskop tibetanischer Tatsachen, das zwischen gebetsmühlenartig sich drehenden Mühlsteinen und plärrende Marktlautsprechern, plätschernden Gewässern, Maschinen und Menschen oszilliert. Das Abwechslungsreiche dieser Bilder, das Moderne ebenso einschließt wie Tradition, verhindert zugleich ihr Abgleiten ins rein Meditative, in eine exotisch schöngefärbte Priesterlichkeit. Diese Bilder sind, mal mehr, mal weniger, immer auch politisch, zeigen ganz konkret, wie es sich lebt in diesem Land. Zudem sind diese Bilder ungemein cinematisch. Neuwirth präsentiert seine Tableaus in strahlendem Cinemascope, das durch das schiere Format und Leuchten seiner Farben die Alltagsbilder mit einer unmittelbaren Künstlichkeit auflädt und den Dokumentar- zum Avantgardefilm erhebt. Dem trägt auch der kristallklare Surround-Ton Rechnung, dessen Raumklang die Bilder selbst ebenso erhellt wie ihre Rückseite, ihr Daneben, das Nicht-Sichtbare. Dass Neuwirth seine Tableaus mit einem schwarz schattierten man ist versucht zu sagen: schleierhaften Rahmen versieht, verhilft dem Film zu einem berückend traumhaften Gestus: das Alltägliche, denkbar objektiv Gefilmte offenbart hier seine suggestive Pracht, in flüchtigen Farben und Formen, die ein Tor zur Welt sein könnten egal, wo diese Welt nun liegt, ob im Himalaya, in Wien, oder bloß im Auge des Betrachters.
Sebastian Hofer, Ray

Tibet ist klein, unwegsam und arm. Es gibt dort keine kilometerlangen Sandstrände, kein tiefblaues Meer, keine Wellness-Landschaften. Und doch ist Tibet ein Traumziel für Tausende, wenn auch nur wenige den Traum in die Tat umsetzen. Aber das ist nicht so wichtig. Tibet ist das gelobte Land des Geistes und der Seele, dort, wo wahrscheinlich die Erlösung wohnt. Ein Land, das vielen ganz nah am Herzen liegt, auch wenn sie es nie mit eigenen Augen gesehen haben. Der österreichische Medienkünstler und Filmemacher Manfred Neuwirth hat Tibet gesehen, und das schon mehrmals. Etwa eine Dekade nach seinem filmischen Reisejournal Tibetische Erinnerungen verarbeitet er aufs Neue seine innige Beziehung zu diesem fernen Land der Widersprüche. Und wie schon der unauffällig visionäre amerikanische Filmemacher James Benning bedient sich auch Neuwirth hier einer ganz strengen Formvorgabe, um dadurch den Inhalt noch stärker wirken zu lassen: In insgesamt 28 Einstellungen, jede mit völlig statischer Kamera aufgenommen, zeigt er Szenen des tibetischen Alltags. Und diese 28 Panoramen setzen sich im Laufe des Films zu einem kompakten Ganzen zusammen – einem stimmigen Porträt eines geheimnisumwobenen Landes und seiner Menschen, endlich einmal ganz ohne Eso-Brille und Buddhismus-Schwärmerei, ohne Kultur-Kult und Politik-Polemik. Neuwirth lässt die Bilder für sich selber sprechen. Sie haben schließlich genug zu erzählen.
Gini Brenner, Skip 12/05

Zehn Jahre nach seinen "Tibetischen Erinnerungen" hat sich Regisseur Manfred Neuwirth wieder in dieses Land begeben. In "Tibet Revisited" fängt er in 28 Szenen das Leben in und um Lhasa ein. Diestatische Kamera vermittelt ein sehr persönliches Bild des tibetischen Alltags, zeigt den Konflikt zwischen Tradition und Moderne. Doch noch stärker als die Bilder spricht die Geräuschkulisse, die diese quasi zum Leben erweckt. Wer sich gerne in neue (Geistes-)Welten begibt, für den ist "Tibet Revisited" der richtige Ort dafür.
Christina Mondolfo, Wiener Zeitung

Mit "Tibetische Erinnerungen" hat Manfred Neuwirth 1995 erstmals seine sehr persönliche Form eines filmischen Reisejournals vorgestellt: 35 gleich lange, mit statischer Kamera gefilmte Aufnahmen in Zeitlupe, die den magischen Moment im Alltäglichen suchen. Mit "Tibet revisited" kehrt er zum Ausgangspunkt seiner Reise zurück.
 
Seine Ästhetik entwickelte er im zweiten und dritten Teil seiner "[ma]-trilogie" weiter, die ihn 1998 nach Japan ("manga-train") und 1999 ins Niederösterreich seiner Kindheit ("magic hour") führte. Mit "Tibet revisited" führt Neuwirth den Zuschauer zurück und damit auch hin zu einer vielschichtigen Wahrnehmung und erweiterten Welt-Anschauung.
 
Ein leuchtendes Kaleidoskop von Alltags-Impressionen aus Lhasa und Umgebung, ein vielfältiges Spektrum optischer und akustischer Moment-Aufnahmen in Breitwand-Format und Surround Sound: Markt- und Straßenszenen, Menschenmengen und Landschaften, religiöse Rituale, Handwerk und Freizeitvergnügen.
 
Die 28 mehrminütigen Sequenzen fügen sich zu einem - wiewohl hier nicht mehr künstlich verlangsamten - kontemplativen Bild- und Klang-Fluss, der den Wandel Tibets unter der chinesischen Besatzung reflektiert. Die Brücke zwischen den einzelnen Einstellungen kann inhaltlich wie formal sein, ein Motiv, ein Geräusch, eine Bewegung oder auch nur eine Lichtstimmung oder ein Gefühl.
 
Auf spielende Kinder etwa folgt die Großaufnahme eines traditionellen Würfelspiels, ein kreisender Mühlstein nimmt die Bewegung einer davor montierten Rollschuh-Halle auf, ein rauschender Fluss jene eines Menschenstroms durch einen Basar. Und mitunter ist die Verknüpfung der Szenen so zart wie die Schnur jenes Papierdrachens, dem ein Wettkampf schattenboxender Mönche vorangeht. Neuwirth präsentiert magic moments en passant - nicht nur im fernen Tibet.
Oberösterreichische Nachrichten